String quartet

Barnabás Kelemen (1st Violin)
Katalin Kokas (2nd Violin / Viola)
Gábor Homoky (2nd Violin / Viola)
László Fenyő (Cello)


The Kelemen Quartet, founded in Budapest in 2010, has rapidly gained a reputation as one of the most exciting young string quartets. The quartet is the first prize winner of the prestigious Premio Borciani 2014. It was described by the Ensemble magazine in 2011 that they “… lit a firework of emotions, wrestling with the emotion in the music” and praised as “… perhaps one of the greatest discoveries of this competition”. The Kelemen Quartet received the overall second prize, the audience prize and the Musica Viva Grand Prize at the Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition 2011 and also received the first prize ex aequo at the Beijing International Music Competition in the same year and at the International Sándor Végh String Quartet Competition in Budapest in 2012. The Kelemen Quartet received further tuition from Zoltán Kocsis, Péter Komlós, Miklós Perényi, Günter Pichler (Alban Berg Quartet), Ferenc Rados, András Schiff and Gábor Takács-Nagy.

On the Kelemen Quartet’s first US tour the Dallas News highlighted “the most electrifying string-quartet concert in recent memory” and praised the ensemble’s “highly inflected and vividly interactive music-making”. Recent highlights include debuts at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam Philharmonie Berlin, Bozar in Brussels, Palace of Arts in Budapest, Franz Liszt Academy Budapest, Schloß Esterhazy Eisenstadt, Amici della Musica Florence, Laeiszhalle in Hamburg with pianist Menahem Pressler, Wigmore Hall, Nardodni Dom Maribor, in Milan at the Societŕ del Quartetto, Auditorium du Louvre Paris, Musikverein Vienna and at the festivals in Lockenhaus, Lohisoitto, Kaposvár, Ravenna and West Cork as well as tours to Australia and New Zealand, India and Mexico.

All four of the Kelemen Quartet’s members are prizewinning musicians and admired as soloists and chamber players. Barnabas Kelemen performs on a Guarneri del Gesú violin from 1742 (ex-Dénes Kovács) and Katalin Kokas performs on a Testore violin from 1698 (Milan), both on generous loan from the State of Hungary. László Fenyö plays a cello made by Matteo Goffriller from 1695.


Zsolt Lafferton
Interartists Amsterdam
Kleine Wittenburgstraat 1
1018 LS Amsterdam
T +31 20 845 36 04
P.O. Box 94359
1090 GJ Amsterdam